Desperate For Dessert

So, I have been doing this sugar detox and it has been a raving success.  My blood sugar was never high (to my knowledge) but my resting blood sugar has dropped about 10 points and is well within the normal range.  Why detox?  I need to lose weight and I wanted to kickstart that with success as well as de-junk my diet.  At first it was really (REALLY) hard but I quickly learned a lot about my bad eating habits.  Such as finishing everything my kids didn’t eat whether I wanted it or not.  Now I start them with less and give them seconds if they are still hungry (and feed what’s left of round 2 to the very grateful dog).

After the first few painful days, I noticed I had a lot more energy and my brain seemed to function more clearly.  I am now on my third week, slowly adding back in foods to see how my body reacts but I am desperately missing the event of dessert!!!  I don’t miss the sugar, just the act of having a treat after dinner.  Naturally, I ran to Pinterest.  lol  Nothing fit into my plan perfectly so I adapted this fried bananas recipe and OH. MY. YUMM.  Here you go – enjoy!

2014-04-25 15.20.05

Cinnamon Bananas

Banana – sliced in half long-way

Cinnamon

Coconut Oil

Melt a small amount (teaspoon or so) of coconut oil over med heat.  Sprinkle cinnamon over the sliced banana and fry both sides to desired doneness.  That’s it!  So easy, delicious, and healthy.

Bananas, Cinnamon, and Coconut Oil all have nutritional benefits so enjoy (in moderation of course) without the guilt that typically comes will dessert on a diet. SCORE

Leave a Reply

