Product Review: Veggetti

Disclaimer:  I have not been asked to review this product.  I am not affiliated with any related company….blah, blah, blah.  I just really wanted to try it and thought I would share the results with you.  

That said, I have used this contraption twice this week so clearly I like it.  I have made zucchini “pasta” in the past with a vegetable peeler.  That gives you long, wide “noodles” and works great.  The moment I saw the commercial for this product I was intrigued.  I am on a “Mission To Me” as one of my Pinterest board is named and am constantly looking for recipes that make eating healthy enjoyable.  So, here we go.

Start with one zucchini, washed, ends removed (and composted).

2014-05-21 11.15.41

 

The Veggetti has two ends (thin and thick) – you are seeing the results of “thick” end.  Just insert the zucchini and twist.  It is exactly that simple.

2014-05-21 11.16.19

When you get to the nub, they provided a cap with prongs on it to continue twisting.

2014-05-21 11.16.572014-05-21 11.17.07

And here is what you end up with.  I compost the pointy leftover, but you could eat it.   Slice the pile in half to make the “noodles” more manageable.

2014-05-21 11.17.34 2014-05-21 11.19.22

Then I boiled them in lightly salted water for a VERY short time – 2 min maybe?  I topped them with home-smoked turkey slices and homemade spaghetti sauce made from last year’s garden tomatoes that were canned.  So delicious and super healthy.

This meal took me all of 10 min to prepare, no joke.  I have my husband smoke turkey breasts on the weekend to enjoy all week long.  If I can’t eat the fatty American diet, my diet at least has to satisfy my taste buds.  I can only bend so far people!  😉

2014-05-21 11.29.31

The cold hard truth – no they do not taste like pasta.  Nothing tastes like pasta except wonderful starchy pasta.  However, on the journey to good healthy some things much be sacrificed or saved for special occasions.  This is an acceptable substitute for daily living (for myself – my husband and children cannot be fooled.  lol)

I do recommend this product.  I foresee it getting tons of use in my kitchen.  It also came with quite a few sauce recipes to try with your veggie “noodles.”

Again, I was not asked to review this product.  However, if YOU have a product you would like me to review please contact me at wwcreationsllc@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

