Summer Harvest – Onions

image (5)

 

It is getting to that time of summer when crops are starting to reward us for all of our hard work.  Next year I need to learn to plants my crops in stages so that I can pick lovely little gems each week as needed.  For this year, I was dancing with excitement when I picked this PILE of diamonds from the dirt.  45+ onions for the ripe little price of a couple of bucks.

I LOVE MY GARDEN!!

What am I going to do with all of these onions?  Easy, I freeze them to use all year long in soups, chili, sauces, casseroles, etc.  The options are endless.  Here is how I freeze my onions:

  • Peel them and chop them into whatever size onion you prefer to use.  I typically freeze a couple of different sizes.
  • Place wax paper or parchment paper on a sheet pan to prevent sticking and lay your chopped onions out in a thin layer.
  • Freeze the onion tray for an hour or two so that each little chunk freezes individually (this allows you to take as much as you want from the bag later and it won’t be one solid frozen onionsicle)
  • Place frozen onions into freezer zip bags and label them appropriately “Onions 2014” etc

That’s it!  Enjoy your organic garden onions year round.  Soon I will be canning tomatoes (and more) and sharing that with you as well so be sure to follow the blog.

Leave a Reply

